Thursday, February 21, 2008


In recognition of his spectacular Formula One debut, McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton has won the ‘Breakthrough of the Year’ prize at the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards.

The British driver collected his trophy on Monday evening at the annual ceremony in St Petersburg, Russia, after having won four Grand Prixs last year to finish just one point shy of eventual champion Kimi Raikkonen.

Being the first black race driver to compete in Formula One, Hamilton has set numerous F1 rookie records and has also surpassed Bruce McLaren to become the youngest driver ever to lead the World Championship.

The Sportsman of the Year title was won by Swiss tennis ace Roger Federer, while the South Africa rugby squad snatched the team crown.

The winners of the Laureus Awards were selected by a special jury comprising 43 of the world’s greatest sportsmen and women.

No comments: