Tuesday, February 26, 2008


India have reached the finals of the Commonwealth bank series as they defeated Srilanka here at Hobart by seven wickets.Srilanka scored 179 runs after batting first and though they lost Perera early they were propped up by a 50 run partnership between Jayasuriya and Sangakkara.Then they lost six wickets for 21 runs as their innings slumped to 93 for 7.They reached 179 runs through a gutsy knock of 57 by Chamara Kapugedra.Praveen Kumar and Ishant Sharma took four wickets apiece.In the reply India lost Uthappa early but a 102 run stand for the second wicket between Gambhir and Sachin ensured that India won by a comfortable margin.Sachin at last came out of his shell and scored an attacking 63 runs.The defeat means that Srilanka are out of this competition.

No comments: