Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Raul wins Destefano trophy

Real Madrid star Raul has taken the Trofeo Di Stefano - the trophy awarded to La Liga's best player at the end of every season.

Raul was closely followed by Atletico Madrid teenager Sergio Aguero, with his Real team-mate, goalkeeper Iker Casillas, in third place.

The Spain international, who has been left out of his country's Euro 2008 squad, fired Real to their second successive Primera Liga title with 18 goals this season.

Both football fans and the game's leading personalities are involved in selecting the winner.

First supporters votes are collated to form a list of 50 players from which a group of judges - including Spain coach Luis Aragones - select the top three.

This year's list of 50 players included 13 from Real, eight from Barcelona and five from Atletico.

Real's Wesley Sneijder came second in the popular vote but the jury, which also included former footballers, did not agree.

No comments: